Marriage isn’t like going out for ice cream.

Image

By reading someone else’s post I was inspired to talk about a subject that means a lot to me; marriage. Before reading any further, please know that this is my blog and I write things as I see it, so I apologize if it is hurtful in any way.

 

Marriage and the true meaning behind “for better or for worse, through sickness and in health” seems to have lots its meaning throughout the years (at least, for most people). If you look at years and years ago, women were paired and “forced” to marry a man before they even learnt what their favorite meal was. The rate of divorce back then was very minimal; when couples fought they worked through it and moved on. When you look at couples now, not only do they get to choose who they marry, but they can’t seem to make it last! For example….

 

Kim Kardashian & Kris Humphries; married for 72 days.

Britney Spears & Jason Alexander; married for 55 hours.

Carmen Electra & Dennis Rodman; married for 9 days.

Mario Lopez & Ali Landry; married for 18 days.

Nicolas Cage & Lisa Presley; married for 107 days.

Renee Zellweger & Kenny Chesney; married for 225 days.

Pamela Anderson & Kid Rock; married for 122 days.

Where has it changed, why has people decided to “jump the gun” and get married so quickly? When you marry someone it can be hard, no matter how much you love and care for each other, you will be faced with tough challenges. Challenges are made to face together, you don’t get divorced just because your husband didn’t like the way you make your spaghetti sauce, or because he forgot to put the toilet seat down…

I was sitting in the bus last week on my way to work, while I overheard this conversation between two girls;

Girl #1; “X” and I have been together for 2 years now, if he doesn’t propose soon I’m going to start looking elsewhere.

Girl #2; Yeah, seriously, why is he making you wait? Don’t put up with that crap! He needs to keep you interested.

Girl #1; Yeah, (other friend’s name) just got engaged, her fiancé proposed to her by putting her ring in her drink. I hope “X” will be more original than that!

I couldn’t believe what I was hearing; obviously these girls didn’t understand a thing about being engaged- or married. They even at one point mentioned how many “likes” they would get from their Facebook update- seriously? If you feel as though he should propose soon to “keep you interested” then you are obviously in the wrong relationship. I’ve never been married myself, but I am smart enough to know and see the true beauty and meaning behind marriage.

Being a girl myself, I dreamt of the day that I see my loved one drop on one knee and ask me to be his, for life. I dreamt of many ways of how it could happen; the cliché sign in the back of an air plane, where we first met, at my favorite restaurant, in front of my friends/family, etc… No way could ever be “the wrong way to propose”.  

(This post is for my amazing boyfriend who has been my rock and my everything. Who has believed in me when I couldn’t find the strength to believe in myself. Who has never doubted my capabilities and who reminds me often that a dream can never be impossible to reach even if it seems that way. Someone who has held my hand when I needed it most and who has never given up on me even when I let my emotions get the best of me. To the man who I go to bed every night thinking I couldn’t love him more, but wake up feeling more and more in love with every single day! I love you, sweetheart!)

-xo

Leave a Reply

